



Tuesday, May 14, 2024 Special Playground Committee Meeting Oak Grove Council Chambers 8505 Pembroke Oak Grove Rd, Oak Grove, Kentucky 42262

The Oak Grove Playground Committee met in Special Session on May 14, 2024, at 9:00 a.m. The meeting was held in the Council Chambers at 8505 Pembroke Oak Grove Road Oak Grove, Kentucky. Present for the meeting were: Chairperson/Committee Member Jean Leavell, Committee Member Isaiah Spencer, Community Center Director Melissa Lynch, Public Works Director Brian Ahart, Finance Director Bobbie Crawford, and City Clerk Lorelynn Fisher. Committee Member John Campbell was absent. There was approximately 1 individual present at the meeting.

CALL TO ORDER

City Clerk Lorelynn Fisher called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Committee Member Isaiah Spencer made a motion to elect Jean Leavell as the chairperson. Committee Member Jean Leavell seconded the motion. There was no discussion. A voice vote was taken with all members present in favor; the motion passed.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Chairperson/Committee Member Jean Leavell made a motion to approve the minutes from May 22, 2023. Committee Member Isaiah Spencer seconded the motion. There was no discussion. A voice vote was taken with all members present in favor; the motion passed.

AGENDA

Committee to discuss playground equipment, funding, ideas, and plans: The committee discussed multiple parks in the city and different avenues the city could potentially take in revamping and adding additional equipment such as grants and ARPA funds. Public Works Director Brian Ahart informed the committee that he and Lorelynn met with Terry Wilkerson (inspector of playgrounds) and informed the committee that she believes the park behind the fire department needs a lot of work. The park behind the Community Center is mostly in good shape as well as Wades Way Park. The committee also discussed the idea of charging a deposit to customers who pick up the bathroom key for Wade's way. The committee believes this will help alleviate the destruction of the bathrooms and the key not being returned to city hall.

ADJOURN	Ν
----------------	---

Committee Member Isaiah Spencer made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Chairperson/Committee Member Jean Leavell seconded the motion. There was no discussion. A voice vote was taken with all members present in favor; the motion passed. The meeting was adjourned at approximately 10:30 am.

APPROVED:	
Chairman/Council Member Jean Leavell	DATE
ATTEST:	
Lorelynn Fisher, City Clerk, City of Oak Grove, Kenti	ucky DATE