



Tuesday, January 2, 2024 Regular City Council Meeting Minutes Oak Grove Council Chambers

The Oak Grove City Council met on January 2, 2024, at 6:00 p.m. The meeting was held in the Oak Grove Council Chambers located at 8505 Pembroke Oak Grove Road Oak Grove, Kentucky. Present for the meeting were: Mayor Jacqueline Oliver, Council Member Jean Leavell, Council Member Isaiah Spencer, Council Member Richard Baker, Council Member Edward Cook, and Council Member John Campbell. Council Member Janet Edwards was absent. Also present for the meeting were City Attorney Lee Wilson, Police Chief Dennis Cunningham, Public Works Director Brian Ahart, Finance Director Bobbie Crawford, and City Clerk Lorelynn Fisher. There were approximately 4 individuals present at the meeting.

Mayor Jacqueline Oliver called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

OPENING CEREMONIES

Pastor Dan Herbster led those present in the Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance.

OPEN FORUM

Roger Joiner spoke before the city council regarding his concerns about Hugh Hunter Road and the trucks traveling on it. Mayor Oliver asked Public Works Director Brian Ahart to look into the matter.

ROLL CALL OF ATTENDANCE

Council Member Jean Leavell, Council Member Isaiah Spencer, Council Member Richard Baker, Council Member Edward Cook, and Council Member John Campbell were present for the meeting. Council Member Janet Edwards was absent. A guorum of the city council was present.

REVIEW OF MINUTES

Mayor Jacqueline Oliver asked the city council to make a motion to approve the minutes from the regular city council meeting on December 19, 2023. Council Member John Campbell made a motion to approve the minutes. Council Member Isaiah Spencer seconded the motion. No discussion was held. A voice vote was taken with all members present in favor; the motion passed.

APPROVAL OF MEETING AGENDA

N/A

CONSENT CALENDAR

N/A

REPORTS OF OFFICERS AND COMMITTEES

Council Member Jean Leavell asked Finance Director Bobbie Crawford for an update on the audit. Crawford stated she would reach out to the auditors to see when they would be able to present the audit to the city council. It was discussed to have the presentation done by Zoom at the next city council meeting, if

possible. The audit is on the city's website. Council Member Isaiah Spencer stated he would like to have the budget for the new year worked on soon. Crawford stated she and some departments have already started the process.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

- 1. <u>Goals and Objectives Committee:</u> Council Member Jean Leavell made a motion to send this item to the committee of the whole. Council Member Isaiah Spencer seconded the motion. No discussion was held. A voice vote was taken with all members present in favor; the motion passed.
- 2. <u>Economic Development Committee/Incentive Ordinance:</u> Council Member John Campbell made a motion to move the incentive ordinance to the committee of the whole. Council Member Jean Leavell seconded the motion. Discussion was held. A voice vote was taken with all members present in favor; the motion passed.

NEW BUSINESS

- Ordinance 2024-XX An Ordinance amending Ordinance 2016-01 providing specific surety requirements
 for applications for stormwater management plans for significant developments in the City of Oak Grove
 Kentucky-First reading: Council Member Jean Leavell asked City Attorney Lee Wilson to read the
 ordinance. City Attorney Lee Wilson read the ordinance aloud. Council Member Isaiah Spencer made a
 motion to accept the ordinance. Council Member John Campbell seconded the motion. No discussion
 was held. The roll call vote was as follows: Council Member Jean Leavell-yes; Council Member Isaiah
 Spencer-yes; Council Member Janet Edwards-absent; Council Member John Campbell-yes; Council
 Member Richard Baker-yes; Council Member Edward Cook-yes; the motion passed.
- 2. Boards and Committees- Overview of the current standing board/committees of the city: The Finance/Budget Committee consists of Janet Edwards, John Campbell, Isaiah Spencer, and Finance Director Bobbie Crawford. The Utilities/Stormwater Committee consists of Jean Leavell, Richard Baker, and Edward Cook. The Public Safety Committee consists of Isaiah Spencer, John Campbell, Richard Baker, Police Chief Dennis Cunningham, and Fire Chief Bill Johnson. The Economic Development Committee consists of Janet Edwards, Richard Baker, Isaiah Spencer, Brian Ahart, and Traci Cunningham. The Animal Control Committee consists of Edward Cook, Jean Leavell, and Tim Johnson. The Land Acquisition and Development Committee consists of Tim Johnson, Isaiah Spencer, and Jean Leavell. The Zoning Committee consists of Jean Leavell, Richard Baker, and Edward Cook. The Volunteer Fire Committee consists of John Campbell, Edward Cook, Isaiah Spencer, and Bill Johnson. The Playground Committee consists of Jean Leavell, John Campbell, and Isaiah Spencer. The Audit Committee consists of John Campbell, Richard Baker, and Jean Leavell. The Steering Committee consists of Janet Edwards, Jean Leavell, Edward Cook, Traci Cunningham, Theresa Jarvis, Roger Joiner, and Shelly Hawkins/Johnson. The Goals and Objectives Committee consists of Jean Leavell, John Campbell, and Richard Baker. The BZA Board consists of Tiffany Gittons, Leah Wright, and Curtis Glenn. The Ethics Board consists of Morris Willoughby, Jessica Bowling, and Tim Johnson. The Code Enforcement and Nuisance Board consists of Amberlee Martin, Tim Johnson, and Rakim Barrett.

LEGISLATIVE BODY MEMBER COMMENTS

1. <u>Waste Management/GFL:</u> Discussion was held. Council Member Edward Cook made a motion to send this item to the committee of the whole. Council Member Isaiah Spencer seconded the motion. No discussion was held. A voice vote was taken with all members present in favor; the motion passed.

EXECUTIVE SESSION 61.810

N/A

ANNOUNCEMENTS

The next regular scheduled meeting is set for January 16, 2024

Council Member Isaiah Spencer announced that he read a crime article for the State of Kentucky and Hopkinsville was listed-Oak Grove was not. Council Member Isaiah Spencer commended our Police Department and hopes to better our public safety, even more, to help aid our police force. Council Member Isaiah Spencer also announced that there will be a Martin Luther King march on January 15, 2024, in Hopkinsville and individuals are welcome to attend.

ADJOURNMENT

Council Member John Campbell made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Council Member Jean Leavell seconded the motion. A voice vote was taken with all members present in favor; the motion passed. The meeting was adjourned at approximately 6:32 p.m.

APPROVED:		
Jacqueline Oliver, Mayor City of Oak Grove	DATE	
ATTEST:		
Lorelynn Fisher, CMC City Clerk City of Oak Grove	DATE	